The Excellent Library’s Kitchen: Vegetarian Quinoa Chili!

So, I like to cook. A lot. I always like to try out new things in the kitchen, experiment with different flavours, I try to make something new and exciting at least once a week. My hubby and I have recently made the jump to be pescatarians, meaning we don’t eat any meat except safe sustainable seafood. We took it slowly, eliminating pork first, then beef and lastly chicken/turkey, the last one being the hardest by far, but we’re doing the best we can, and I think it makes us better people and healthier eaters.

When I look for new recipes, I have to be honest, Pinterest isn’t really my favourite place to look. Unless a recipe has a million good reviews the likelihood is that I won’t try it, I don’t know what it is, but I like something tested and true. I usually look to MarthaStewart.com, or The Pioneer Woman Cooks, or Skinnytaste and I make changes here and there to fit our lifestyle and preferences. Since we’ve dropped all land dwelling animals from our diet it’s been a tad more difficult to find recipes that will please everyone, so to Pinterest I turned. Turns out there’s a lot to be had in vegetarian fare on Pinterest, and I found this recipe for a vegetarian chili that I thought sounded good and would please us all! I was going to take enough pictures to a neat step by step, but then… I forgot. Children do that to your mind…

Vegetarian Quinoa Chili

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced (1 3/4 cup)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes
  • 1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups water (or chicken broth if not making vegetarian)
  • 3 Tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, or to taste (optional)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2 (15 oz) cans kidney beans, drained and rinsed, any colour is fine
  • 1 (15 oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen organic corn

An Excellent Library|Vegetarian Quinoa Chili

1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat, add onion and garlic and saute until tender. Add diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, cooked quinoa, 2 cups of water, chili powder, cumin, cocoa, paprika, sugar, coriander, cayenne pepper and season with salt and pepper to taste. Bring mixture just to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer, cover pot and allow to simmer 30 minutes.

2. Add in all beans, corn and more water if necessary. Cook until heated through and serve with whatever toppings you would like. We had ours with sharp cheddar and greek yogurt, you could top with avocados, cilantro, a squeeze of lime, tortilla chips, the world is your oyster.

Source: Cooking Classy

An Excellent Library|Vegetarian Quinoa Chili

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

